MY FAIRYTALE DAD

*Featuring amazing stories on “WOMEN AND THEIR FATHERS”

There are fathers we only see in fairytales and western movies.The dads who would give an arm and leg for their children..the dads that doesn’t seem to exist in real life.

Well,for me this dad does exist… a fairytale dad,even better because he’s real.
Being my father’s daughter has been a wonderful experience and journey. I have experienced love in its purest form, love from an unending source.
Growing up, my dad was my playmate ,confidant, my mom as well as my dad. Everyday he would ensure that he had tied my hair into a neat ponytail, tied my shoelaces firmly and pinned a handkerchief onto my dress…that was when I was in kindergarten.
I grew up, like all of us eventually do, haha..and got into primary school.
I joined all the clubs and sports I could, till I found my real interests…
I settled on swimming and tennis…and to my dad, i was the best swimmer and tennis player there ever was. Oh, you should have heard him brag. Never did he miss a tournament or swim meeting if it was possible. He would cheer with all his might and show all the other parents who his little girl was. My little heart would swell with joy and pride…my dad was proud of me.
I’ve come a long way, but most of the things I have learnt are from my dad. How to be respectful, how to speak up for myself, how to be confident, how to be proud of who I am, and most importantly…how to love deeply and completely.
All my father has ever wanted for my siblings( yes, i do have siblings and we’re all treated the same ) and I is true happiness ,true love, true joy and inner peace.
Now that I’m almost all grown,my father doesn’t feature as much in my everyday day life as he used to, I am trying to pave my own path. But for the solid foundation he set while I grew up, I will forever be thankful.
I know what real love is meant to be, because I was shown real love by my dad.
I know what it is to be protected, because my dad has protected me in all ways.
I can be proud of who I am, because I know he is proud of me.
This does not mean he has no flaws, he does…but to me he is imperfectly perfect.
He is my father,my dad,my first love.

-Anonymous

One thought on “MY FAIRYTALE DAD

Leave a comment